One Month Wrap-Up!

I can’t believe that I’ve been here 4 weeks already, it’s crazy! Time is going by so fast.

Last night, we had a going away party a co-worker who is going back to the UK. The night ended with epic karaoke. The first song I sang was with a Japanese co-worker, “A Whole New World” from Aladdin. Such a classic.

BUT can I just tell you… there really isn’t ANYTHING better than watching 2 Japanese guys belt out “What Makes You Beautiful” by One Direction. They were so into it. Jumping up and down at the chorus, etc.. One of the best moments of my trip so far.

That was followed up by another lesser known 1D song that was selected by someone on accident. I may or may not have known all the words… by heart.


Today I went to the Ueno Zoo for 2 reasons: 1) Giant Pandas and 2) Giant Pandas. Actually, I do really enjoy going to the zoo. Just so happens it’s another beautiful day here so it was a great way to be out in the sunshine. While the Ueno Zoo is pretty much right smack dab in the middle of Tokyo (read: open land is limited), it felt quite spacious. Although, there were a few habitats that I thought could have used more space.

_DSC0761

Of course, the pandas are extremely popular at the zoo. It’s quite rare to have pandas anywhere. I guess that’s an obvious statement since they are a threatened species. Zoos around the world are working to conserve the giant panda. Who wouldn’t, they were just stinkin’ adorable!

_DSC0762

This image is the visual portrayal of contentedness. I feel like this also embodies what I feel like when I get home and get to change out of my professional clothes. Ahhhhhhhh. _DSC0770

There were a few other animals that I hadn’t really seen before including a stork and some other interesting birds.

Sadly, one of my favorite animals, the tapir, wasn’t out. I’ve grown to love the tapir from my visits to the Denver Zoo (shout out to Becky and Brent!) and the fact that they have the cutest.babies.ever. But even though there was no tapir today, there were appropriate warnings of both llama and tapir ‘abilities.’ I’m going to have a post one of these days of all the signage here, it’s pure genius.

_DSC0787

Whelp, with that…. hope you have a fantastic weekend!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “One Month Wrap-Up!

Leave a Reply

