Kamakura

Kamakura was my Tuesday adventure and has been my favorite spot so far. I spent a long day there (14 miles long) and it had all of my favorite things. Cute little shops, hiking, good food, and some sights.

The way the city and sights are laid out, you can go on two different hiking trails and see the best sights while taking a pit stop between hikes to head down the main drag to see the shops, eat, etc. I should back up, the city is laid out that way, but that’s not necessarily how I explored it. I had some navigational issues and had to cut out one of the trails due to my poor map reading skills. The kind people of Japan saved the day again and directed me on the correct course.

The first trail, Diabutsu, leads to the Big Buddha of Kamakura, the main attraction in the city. The trail was really well marked and it’s so interesting to experience a different terrain. Along the trail, I found the exposed tree roots, oftentimes used as steps, to be pretty fascinating.

_DSC0670

The Big Buddha was equally impressive. They burn incense at most of the shrines/temples and the Diabutsu had the best smelling incense in my journey so far. It just smelled so cozy and welcoming… that must be the 15 years of the Pacific Northwest in me.  _DSC0684

Towards the end of the day, I went to Kencho-ji temple and entered just a few minutes before closing, due to said navigation issues. The woman at the gate was kind enough to let me in (along with a few other people coming in after me) and said (in English) I could let myself out the side gate. It couldn’t have worked out better. It was me and about 20 other people in the large expanse of the grounds. It was the definition of peaceful. I could have just roamed around and sat there all day if my feet hadn’t been beckoning me home.

_DSC0713

I’m not sure what they do here in Japan, but I swear they give all their plants ‘roids or something. I have never seen so many beautiful flowers with such vibrant colors and sweet fragrances. I have started restraining myself from photographing every plant/flower I see, but it is so hard because they are so gorgeous that they don’t seem real!

Peonies, like woah. I. can’t. get. enough.

_DSC0710

I don’t know what this is, kind of looks like ranunculus. I do know that I want one… for the yard I don’t have.

_DSC0719

I also got a few things for myself while roaming around, including the cutest lucky cat. You had to know I would be buying myself one. Nanny will also be ecstatic that I found some of our “ice-cream” spoons at a steal of 150 yen a piece!

4 thoughts on “Kamakura

  1. Yea!!! Ice cream , you scream , we all scream for ice cream… Spoons! Hee,hee! Oh and that flower is a camellia. At least it looks like it from your amazing photographs. Sounds like Kamakura will definitely be one of my day trip! If for nothing else but ICE CREAM SPOONS! Ha! Ha!

  2. What a lovely post! I’m soooo glad that I didn’t delete your blog from my bookmarks after thinking you had given up on recipe sharing.

    I’m looking forward to seeing what adventures you have in store for your mother.

    Cheers!

    • Thanks Carey! Hope you are doing well!
      I’m trying to test run everything before she gets here to make sure she has the best time ever.

      Maybe now that I’m back into this blogging thing, I’ll keep it up when I get back to Seattle!

  3. It does look like peonies , but not sure about camellia. Gorgeous flowers.
    Sounds like you’re having a wonderful time! Fun reading your Blog. 😉

Leave a Reply

