Starting to Settle In

The weather here has been out of this world awesome. 70 and Sunny. Pretty much my perfection. I know come early June, it gets quite humid so I am soaking up this spring time sunshine while I can. That being said, I have tried to be outside as much as possible this weekend. I’d say it was a success.

Saturday, I walked to the East Garden of the Imperial Palace. It ended up being a little further than I had expected but with the sun shining, I couldn’t have been happier, although by the end of the day, my feet probably would have said otherwise!

The palace is amongst the high rises and skyscrapers. It’s quite the vivid dichotomy of the past and present.

_DSC0528

I spent an hour or so just laying on the lawn of the East Garden. It was glorious.

_DSC0558

The trees and plants here are such a vibrant shade of green, it almost doesn’t seem real.

_DSC0547

Really, ALL the plants and flowers have the most vibrant, saturated colors.  I should note although it may be obvious, I don’t really edit my photos because that would require a skill set I don’t have, so these colors aren’t enhanced. What you see here is pretty darn close to reality and it’s amazing.

_DSC0541

The walls of the palace are massive and quite a feat of engineering and architecture as they have been standing since the 1600’s.

_DSC0539

Today, I went around with a fellow trekker, who had just ended her rotation, to Gotokuji Temple, also known as the “cat temple.” It was obvious that I had to go. While it’s known for all the cat statues (see below), the grounds are equally impressive, so serene and expansive.

_DSC0564This cat, “Maneki Neko,” is said to bring luck. Really, I just think its cute.

_DSC0575

CATS! CATS! CATS!
_DSC0574From there we grabbed lunch in Omotesando with a beautiful view.

IMG_1797

The main street of Omotesando is often referred to as the Champ d’Elysees of Tokyo. This was the first time I felt crowded and slightly overwhelmed by the amount of people that live here. There were so. many. people.

IMG_1804

I ended today in Harajuku and walked down Yakeshita Street, also very crowded. It’s where a lot of the “eclectic” people shop BUT they have shops that only sell socks and for that, I’ll be going back.

IMG_1801I have a lot more to share but I’ve reached the limit of most attention spans with this long one so, I’ll try to share more tomorrow or Tuesday.

3 thoughts on “Starting to Settle In

  1. “vivid dichotomy”
    “saturated colors”
    Candor…
    P.s. some of my family have those cats. The more you have the more lucky you are. If you think they’re just cute, you’re totally more Asian than I am 😛

Leave a Reply

