Celebratory Avocado White Bean Sandwiches

At the beginning of the month, I found out I was promoted to Senior Tax Associate.

I’m not one for lots of hoopla… I mean its evident in the fact that I just used the word hoopla. My mom asked me if I was going to by myself a special gift and I responded… “Yeah, maybe some new goggles.”

I’ve been training for my first sprint-triathalon that’s on July 1st and I’ve been borrowing a pair from home. They leak. Contacts and Chlorine don’t really mesh well, so goggles will be something special.

Now avocados, they make anything extra special.

Chips + Guacamole = Special Dip

Rice + Avocado + Seaweed + = Special Sushi

White Bean + Avocado = Special Sandwiches

So fresh, so light, so simple, so green. It’s feel good kind of food.

Two of my favorite Spring/Summer ingredients: Avocado and Cucumber. Slice them both thin. This is where having good knives is key.

The sandwich didn’t get its name without the protein of the meal, white (great northern) beans. Probably the creamiest and most delicious of all beans, in my opinion. It’s a perfect match with the crisp cucumber and ripe avocado.

After you slice the veggies and mash the beans with all the other good stuff (see complete recipe below), that’s essentially all the prep required. No oven to pre-heat or water to boil. Just simple prep and assembly!

After “schmearing” the beans on the bread, layer the thinly sliced cucumber.

Next comes the creamy, oh-so-tasty avocado.

Spread a little mayonnaise and a little more bean mixture onto the other slice of bread top with fresh mixed greens. The final touch before smushing them together is a sprinkle of salt and freshly ground pepper.

Green with envy yet?

Here’s how to do it…

White Bean Avocado Sanwiches

Adapted from Real Simple Magazine

Serves 6-8 (depending on how thick you layer the beans)

Ingredients:

2 Cans Great Northern (White Cannellini) Beans, rinsed and drained

1/4 tsp. Cayenne

1/3 c. Mayonnaise + extra for spreading onto the bread (optional)

2 Avocados, thinly sliced

1 English Cucumber, thinly sliced

Mixed Greens

Bread (6-8 Sandwich Thins or enough slices of bread for 6-8 sandwiches)

**The original recipe has bean sprouts which add a tasty crunch. I just didn’t have any on hand so I substituted with the mixed greens and it turned out just as delicious.

Directions:

Mash white beans in a large bowl. Once roughly mashed, add mayonnaise and spices and mash until smooth but still has some texture.

Slice the avocado and cucumber in thin slices.

Spread the extra mayonnaise (if using) on one piece of the bread and then the bean mixture. Layer the cucumber, avocado and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Top with mixed greens and cover with the second slice of bread.

Leave a Reply

