Seattle = Soup

The Winters in Seattle tend to be a little dreary. It rains/drizzles/mists/sometimes snows and the sky is generally a shade of grey.  It’s the weather that makes you want to stay in bed a little longer, watch movies, drink cocoa and make soup.

It’s also the weather that tends to bring people into a winter funk. Sometimes we just need to be more carefree like pets… No matter the weather, Ollie still wants to hang out on my patio bannister and chill. Dogs still want to run, you get my point.

And during the Spring that can look a lot like the Winter… take today for example, it rained then hailed then rained again… there are quite a few ‘soup days’ too.

I’ll tell you one thing, we may not get many of them but a sunny day in this city CANNOT be beat. And that my friends is not an exaggeration.

Enough Cat Lady and Weather Chit-Chat … let’s get back to this soup business.

This is Asian Noodle Vegetable Soup.

I really don’t cook a lot of Asian food, I think because I’m afraid I won’t get the flavors right or there are too many ingredients I don’t have. This recipe was the opposite. It’s very easy and equally delicious.

Except I did have to Google the noodle because nothing in the grocery store had Vermicelli blasted on the label. I found that Vermicelli is also commonly called Rice Sticks in Asian Cuisine.

Sometimes I wonder where I would be without Google, probably still in the ethnic food aisle at QFC.

To transition soup from Winter to Spring, let’s take out all the cream and add in some brightly colored vegetables, like edamame…

Step into Spring, Rain or Shine, and try this soup for yourself!

Asian Noodle Vegetable Soup

Slightly Adapted From Weight Watchers.com

Ingredients

1 tbsp. Olive Oil

3 1/2 oz fresh mushrooms sliced (about 1 1/2 cups)

2 Tbsp ginger root, fresh, grated

1 Tbsp minced garlic

2 cup(s) water 6 oz reduced-sodium chicken broth (I used vegetable stock.)

6 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce

6oz uncooked vermicelli/rice sticks, broken in half   (I couldn’t break the rice sticks in half so I went through with a knife once they cooked)

1 pound(s) frozen mixed vegetables, Asian stir-fry variety

1 cup(s) edamame (shelled), frozen

Sriracha Sauce, to taste

1/2 cup(s) uncooked scallion(s), sliced, for garnish

2 tsp. sesame oil, divided. (I didn’t use this because I forgot, but it was still delicious.)

Instructions

Coat a large saucepan with a thin layer of olive oil; heat over medium heat. Add mushrooms; stir-fry until lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Add ginger and garlic; stir-fry until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Add broth, water and soy sauce; bring to a boil over high heat. Stir in vermicelli, reduce heat to medium-high and boil, 2 minutes. Add frozen vegetables and edamame; bring to a simmer. Simmer until vegetables and vermicelli are tender, about 5 minutes; remove from heat and stir in scallions.

Spoon soup into bowls; drizzle each serving with 1/4 teaspoon oil. Yields about 1 1/2 cups per serving.

2 thoughts on “Seattle = Soup

Leave a Reply

