All You Need is Love…. AND Nutella!

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day and I had the best-night-ever.

No, I didn’t get engaged or meet my soulmate, it’s much simpler than that….I left work at 6:45 and it’s mid-february. It an oxy-moron but it happened and I relished in it.

Love has been on my mind a lot lately. Not in the cheesy, I’m SO lonely sort of way. More in the way that I realized that I have so much love in my life and I am so lucky to be loved by so many people and sometimes I just don’t share it enough. It’s the concept of loving everyone and I mean EVERYONE. So much easier said then done.

My inspiration and motivation for this stems from a few Sunday sermons and a recent Bible study lesson on 1 Corinthians 13. It’s a passage often used in weddings but it goes FAR beyond 1 man and 1 woman.

1 Corinthians 13:3-8

“If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.”

Simply summarized: Love is everything and should be a part of everything or else we are nothing. It’s powerful stuff.

Now to the second most important part of Valentine’s day…. chocolate and in this case hazelnut and chocolate – Nutella Biscotti.

This batter…. it is also LOVE. Not the essential kind of love but love nonetheless. Make sure to save a tablespoon (or three) for yourself before you clean the bowl. We all do it so there’s no need to hide it. We’ll be better because of it.

And that batter, turns into this. It is so important when you make something with nuts that you can actually taste and see them. The consistency and the way it soaks up the coffee and softens is absolutely perfect.

Fittingly, World Nutella Day was February 5th. My new favorite holiday. I think we should get the day off so we can just stay home and bake Nutella goodies.

Nutella Biscotti

Adapted from Mignardise

2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 Tbsps. cocoa powder
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
3 large eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup Nutella
1 cup chopped hazelnuts (lightly toasted, I didn’t do this and it was still delish)
*The original recipe has 1/2 the hazelnuts and 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips but I just thought that might be too much for a morning treat.

Preheat oven to 350 F.
Line a baking sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.
Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl.
Beat eggs in a large bowl until frothy. Add sugar and continue beating on high for 2 minutes. Stir in Nutella. Add flour mixture to egg mixture and blend thoroughly. Stir in chips and hazelnuts.
Wet your hands, then divide dough into 2 or 3 portions on the baking sheet. Shape each portion into a rectangle about 1/2″ thick.
Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and turn down the heat to 300F.
Using a serrated knife, cut slices about 1/3 to 1/2″ wide from each rectangle. Arrange slices cut side down on baking sheet and return to oven.
Bake for 10-12 minutes, turn biscotti over (onto other cut side) and bake an additional 10-12 minutes, depending on the thickness of your slices. Remove to a wire to cool.

If you want to add that special touch (which you don’t really need but it sounds delicious), melt 1/2 cup chopped semisweet chocolate along with 1/4 cup Nutella in a microwave safe dish. When the cookies have cooled, spread a layer of the melted chocolate on their bottoms, using a small knife or off-set spatula. Sprinkle with toasted hazelnuts and allow to dry completely before storing in an airtight container. I think I kept mine for over a week and a half.

3 thoughts on “All You Need is Love…. AND Nutella!

  1. i had a good devotion about this verse to keep yourself in a frame of mind that is open and would be pleasing to God. it just said anywhere it says “love” or “it” to insert your name, so that you are patient, kind, don’t envy etc… just wanted to share it with you. and yes i had this verse at my wedding 🙂 love you. miss you. ad

  2. Pingback: Hazelnut Cocoa Granola | allycatinthekitchen

Leave a Reply

