Nanny’s Cookies

For the last 24 years I have had a Nanny. It’s not what you think, I am plenty mature for my age and can rock myself to sleep. On my mom’s side of the family, it has been what we call Grandma.

This recipe was my great-Nanny’s. NOT to be confused with Russian Tea Cookies or Crescent Cookies, or really any other cookie covered in powdered sugar. Nothing compares, these are Nanny’s White Cookies. The fact that I’m even sharing this with you is big time…. they are that special to me….

While these cookies will likely not fit well with your New Year’s Resolution – if one of them is to lose a few lbs. (a perpetual one for me, probably resulting from my complete indulgence in things like this and my general love of food)- it’s a must try. That’s why we exercise, right?!

It may seem dry but should stick together when you make the balls. Also, it helps to make the balls a little smaller so that you can just pop the whole thing in your mouth at once and avoid the crumble and fall of powder sugar onto your shirt. This has happened to me one too many times, so classy….

You can make the dough ahead of time and refrigerate for a few days, just take out and bring to room temp before shaping and cooking.

While we typically make these as Christmas Cookies… they are a great winter cookie too. I mean, it looks just like a bunch of snowballs, sweet-buttery snowballs. But in reality, I’d also happily eat these in the spring and summer. There is no such thing as a seasonal cookie….

Side Note: You may see some changes to the appearance of the blog. I’m trying to find something that I like, which means trying LOTS of different things, bear with me.

Nanny’s White Cookies

1 C. Butter, Softened

1/2 C. Powdered Sugar

1/4 tsp. Salt (Optional, we don’t usually do this. As the recipe says, its usually salty enough without it)

1 C. Nuts -Pecans, Chopped (Use a food processor, you want it to be like a small chop. Pieces a little smaller than pea size.)

2 1/4 C. Flour (It says Cake but we use A/P and it works well)

Vanilla (Try about a 1/2 tsp. or so, then taste to see what you think. If you’re one to worry about salmonella, there’s no egg so taste away.)

Combine all ingredients. Roll into balls and bake at 350 for 12 minutes, until you can pick up a cookie and its golden brown on the bottom. You can fit a lot of cookies on one baking sheet as the don’t really expand at all.

Once cooled, place cookies in a Ziploc bag with powdered sugar to cover them. You may have to do this twice to get a good layer of powdered sugar coating.

2 thoughts on “Nanny’s Cookies

Leave a Reply

