Home

Home has at least 3 types of cereal for breakfast.

Home means everything from Costco that I want to buy myself but can’t because it means I have a 5 lb. bag of pita chips staring at me until they suddenly disappear… to my thighs…

Home means a bowl of holiday M&M’s.

But…most importantly, home means quality T-I-M-E with my family (including three 50+ lb. dogs) and of course some good ol’ home cooked comfort food. This may not seem like your vision of comfort food but trust me we still do meat and potatoes and the best chicken and dumplins’ EVER (well I guess more like potatoes and dumplins’ for me) but after living in the NW for over 10 years now, this is how I define comfort food.

This recipe doesn’t actually have a name since it was one of those meals that gets ‘thrown together’ and turns out amazing…. lets just call it Butternut Squash Pasta with Mixed Roasted Vegetables (clever, huh).

Here’s what you need:

Fun Shaped Noodle, Sauce, and White Wine, we call it Close to Boise. Obviously, we all took Spanish in school, not French.

Everything is from Costco. My family is a walking advertisement for that place…. Heaven on Earth.

Raw Veggies: Mushrooms, Asparagus, Red Pepper, Butternut Squash

Post Roast Deliciousness

Finished Product… Mmmm Good.

As you can tell I am still working on my food photography so don’t judge too harshly and just trust me that it DOES taste good!

Butternut Squash Pasta with Mixed Roasted Vegetables

Cook noodles according to package. Drain and set aside.

Chop vegetables into pieces of similar size. Enough to fill a medium baking sheet in one layer. You can buy the squash pre-cut (from Costco) and saves some time and danger… have you ever tried peeling and cutting one of those suckers?!

Drizzle with olive oil, dried herbs of your choice (Basil, Oregano), Johnny’s season salt and a little Garlic Salt. Roast in the oven at 450 until the squash is tender but not mushy.

Combine the squash sauce with white wine about a 1/4-1/3 c. in the pot used to cook the noodles. (The less dishes the better.) Add back in noodles and vegetables to heat through and you are ready to serve!

Serves approximately 6.

Serving suggestion: Green Salad and Artisan Bread.

2 thoughts on “Home

  1. Great job Ally! It was scrumptious wasn’t it? Mom ALWAYS love having her chicks home under her wings. Even her Grand-kitty for Christmas Camp! Yea!!!

Leave a Reply

