Pumpkin Cupcakes w/ Cream Cheese Frosting

My first official post of hopefully a long line of tasty recipes and other crafty things!

October and November happen to be two of my favorite months and not because of Halloween. I don’t know what it is but I have never been a huge fan of Halloween in my college and early adult years. Maybe its that I never liked scary movies (they give me nightmares and make me double check behind my shower curtain before going to bed) or that I don’t like chocolate or candy (oh, wait nope, it’s definitely not that). I think what it really boils down to is that I’m just not a big proponent of the standard that most women/girls my age feel the compulsion to choose costumes that reveal waaayyy too much.

To me the 10th and 11th months of the year mean one thing… HARVEST season. A change in my apartment decorations, a few good yankee candle scents that make me want to curl up and read a good book with some hot cocoa, and of course autumn squash and pumpkins. My recent consumption of butternut squash is what inspired my recipe search for these pumpkin cupcakes. I will let you know right now the flavors of these cupcakes screams harvest, fall, and DELICIOUS!

The Finished Product

The Ingredients:

White Bowl: Graham Cracker Crumbs (Gingerbread Flavor Graham Crackers). This was actually not a part of the original recipe below but a friend of mine came up with the idea and I thought it would be a nice flavor with the pumpkin and texture with the smooth icing and soft cake.

Small Turquoise Bowl:Pumpkin Pie Spice” this was one of those things that should have been on my grocery list but never made it. I googled how to make pumpkin pie spice and it was really easy and I saved $5! Simply combine cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg in various proportions and voila!

The Baking Process:

The recipe says it should make about 24. I think I got 18 out of it and no… I didn’t eat THAT much batter…Maybe I just filled each cupcake too full but I still thought they turned out nicely. If you needed the exact 24, I would consider making two batches.

With the icing, I had to make quite a few adjustments. The recipe simply calls for cream cheese and powdered sugar but that tasted a little to cream cheesy for me. I ended up adding a little butter (1/4 C), vanilla(1/2 tsp), and extra powdered sugar (1C). I would suggest just playing around with the flavor to get what you think tastes good. The only downside that I guess is more of an upside is that there is a lot of icing left over…. I put mine in the freezer and will let you know what becomes of it.

Pumpkin Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting

Adapted from Real Simple.com
Makes 18 cupcakes| Hands-On Time: 18m | Total Time: 45m

Ingredients

  • 1 18.5-ounce box yellow cake mix (plus the ingredients called for in the package directions)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 15-ounce can pumpkin puree
  • 2 8-ounce bars cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 24 pieces candy corn

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350° F. Line two 12-cup muffin tins with paper liners. Prepare the cake mix as directed but with the following change: Add the pumpkin pie spice and substitute the can of pumpkin puree for the water called for in the package directions.
  2. Divide the batter among the prepared muffin tins and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean, 18 to 22 minutes. Let cool.
  3. Meanwhile, using an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese, butter, sugar and vanilla until creamy. Spread on the cupcakes and top each with a piece of candy corn/pumpkin.
3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cupcakes w/ Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

